The traveling scat samples and other updates

Hello! Sorry for the lack of updates recently. Due to some technical difficulties (falling in a river with my iPhone, which contains pictures from the field) I have been waiting to post about my recent surveys. I’ll post about my surveys in Gegharkunik village (in the Geghama mountain range) as soon as I recover my photos.

In the meantime, I wanted to share some good news! Thanks to a friend, my scat samples were safely taken to Ilia State University, where the DNA-analysis will be conducted. It will be months before I get any information from the samples but this was a big hurdle and I’m relieved that the samples are now at the lab in Georgia 😉

Over my last remaining months, I’m hoping to conduct surveys around the Zangezur Biosphere Complex (more about this soon…), in Vayots Dzor and hopefully more in Geghama. It will surely be a busy few months and I’ll keep you all posted!

One of the few pictures I have from Gegharkunik. I took this picture from the safety of the car, right before we got hit by an impressive hail storm.

One of the few pictures I have from Gegharkunik. I took this picture from the safety of the car, right before we got hit by an impressive hail storm.

Leave a comment